Manchester Jewish Soccer League
Manchester Jewish Soccer League - Logo

Manchester Jewish Soccer League

Formed 1948 - Affiliated to Maccabi GB

News Report

70th Anniversary Dinner


  • All is Quiet....
  • MJSL Commitee
  • Calm before the Storm
  • 70 Years ... NOT OUT
  • Hottest Ticket in Town
  • Anniversary Brochure
  • Order of Ceremony
  • Table Plan
  • A Packed House
  • Football Celebs
  • 20 years Service Award - Paul Rose
  • MJSL Service Award Winners
  • Presentation to Tony Sheldon
  • Tony Sheldon speech
  • Across the Generations

On Tuesday 27th March, players old and new re-united at the MJSL celebration event across 70 years

Over 200 people attended the MJSL’s 70th Anniversary Dinner on Tuesday 27th March 2018 at The Manchester Suite at Old Trafford. The night was a great success on all fronts as Darryl Lee was MC for proceedings and held everything together including several fund raising events with an auction of sporting memorabilia included. 

Celebrities from the football world, past and present, were part of two Q & A sessions hosted by Match of the Day commentator Steve Bower. The blue half of the city was represented by Tony Book, Joe Corrigan, Fred Eyre & Peter Barnes with the red half included Juan Mata, Dave Sadler, Nicky Butt & Paddy Crerand. City legends compared the past teams to present day, Bell, Summerbee and Lee, the team spirit and the changes over the last 50 years. Nicky Butt re-lived the treble year and the rise of the Class of 92, Juan Mata provided an insight into his Foundation whilst Messrs Crerand and Sadler waxed lyrical about the 60s and George Best days.

In between, Premier League referee Chris Kavanagh provided an insight into the world of the men in black, Darryl asked questions about the upcoming World Cup as well as development of officials in grassroots football, given the MCFA background for Chris.

Manchester County FA’s Chief Executive Colin Bridgford together with Chair of Board Deb Owen presented Service Awards to Tony Sheldon (60 years), Brian Myer (50 years), Gary Louis (20 years) & Paul Rose (20 years). Colin mentioned the close links between the organisations and the mutual support. 

Raphi Bloom introduced the audience to the Equaliser Project in Northern Israel and a video was played showing how communities were brought together through football. MJSL will be donating proceeds from the dinner towards this magnificent cause.

Neil Collins provided the toast to the MJSL and in mid speech presented Tony Sheldon with the MJSL’s own 60 year merit and service award. Whilst the evening ran a little later than expected, the content was enjoyed by all and augurs well for the future. Most current clubs were represented and it was nice to see Liverpool and Leeds communities well represented as ever, all the feedback has been superb with texts, calls and emails flowing in. #MJSL70. #ROLLON75.


Never miss an update

Follow the site to get the latest news and results straight to your email

Follow us

League Table link

Joan Collins Premier Division

2018-19 Season

  • 2018-19 Maccabi Yellow (League Champions)
  • 2018-19 Reich (Feldman Trophy Winners)
  • 2018-19 Leeds Maccabi (Shonn Trophy Winners)
  • 2018-19 South Manchester 2nd (Tony Cohen Cup Winners)
  • 2018-19 MJSL Player of the Year - Rafi Kay (Leeds Maccabi)
  • 2018-19 MJSL Top Scorer - Ben Gould (South Mcr 2nd)
  • 2018-19 MJSL Manager of the Year - Ian Selwyn (Leeds Maccabi)
  • 2018-19 MJSL Young Player of the Year - Matty Miller (Reich)
  • 2018-19 MJSL Referee of the Year - Behnam Sarani
  • 2018-19 MJSL Committee Member of the Year - Andrew Hatton

2017-18 Season

  • 2017-18 Haroldeans (League Champions)
  • 2017-18 South Mcr 2nd (Feldman Runners-Up)
  • 2017-18 Sedgley Park Celtic (Shonn Runners-Up)
  • 2017-18 Maccabi Yellow (Tony Cohen Cup Winners)
  • 2017-18 Reich (Tony Cohen Runners-Up)
  • 2017-18 MJSL Player of the Year - Adam Shiffman (Haroldeans)
  • 2017-18 MJSL Committee Member of the Year - Dan Feldman
  • 2017-18 Darren Rose Trophy
  • 2017-18 Reich 1st (6-a-side Winners)
  • 2017-18 Haroldeans management (Feldman Trophy)

2016-17 Season

  • 2016-17 Haroldeans - MJSL Premier Division Champions
  • 2016-17 Leeds Maccabi - Feldman Trophy Winners
  • 2016-17 Maccabi Blue - Tony Cohen Cup Winners
  • 2016-17 Prestfield - Tony Cohen Cup Runners-Up
  • 2016-17 MJSL Representative Team
  • 2016-17 MJSL Player of the Year - Adam Shiffman (Haroldeans)
  • 2016-17 MJSL Young Player of Year - Max Barnett (Haroldeans)
  • 2016-17 MJSL Sporting Manager of Year - Anton Radiven (Maccabi Yellow)
  • 2016-17 MJSL Committee Member of the Year - Ian Selwyn
  • 2016-17 MJSL 7 a Side Winners - South Manchester

2015-16 Season

  • 2015-16 Oakhill - MJSL Champions
  • 2015-16 South Manchester 2nd - Feldman Trophy Winners
  • 2015-16 Maccabi Mcr Blue - Shonn Trophy Winners
  • 2015-16 Reich - Shonn Trophy Runners Up
  • 2015-16 MJSL Player of the Year - Moses Seitler (Oakhill)
  • 2015-16 MJSL Young Player of Year - Charlie Simpson (Maccabi Blue)
  • 2015-16 MJSL Respect Manager of Year - Johnny Rose (Maccabi Blue)
  • 2015-16 MJSL Referee of the Year - Behnam Sarani
  • 2015-16 MJSL Committee Member of Year - Brian Myer
  • 2015-16 MJSL 7 a side

2014-15 Season

  • 2014-15 Leeds Maccabi (Treble Winners)
  • 2014-15 Gidi Amar receives Premier Trophy from Neil Collins
  • 2014-15 South Mcr Sports 2nd (Tony Cohen Cup Winners)
  • 2014-15 MJSL Young Player of the Year - Harry Landey (Leeds Maccabi)
  • 2014-15 Maccabi Mcr Yellow (Feldman Runners Up)
  • 2014-15 Reich Insurance Rangers (MJSL 7-a-side winners)
  • 2014-15 MJSL Joels Respect/Sportsmanship Award - Oakhill LIons
  • 2014-15 Leeds Maccabi (Shonn Trophy Winners)
  • 2014-15 MJSL Secretary of the Year - Neil Collins (South Mcr)
  • MJSL Remembrance Sunday

2013-14 Season

  • 2013-14 Maccabi Mcr 2nd (MJSL Champions)
  • 2013-14 Maccabi Mcr 2nd (I.Modlin & S.Lee) - Joan Collins Trophy
  • 2013-14 Leeds Maccabi 2nd (Tony Cohen Winners)
  • 2013-14 South Mcr Sports 2nd (Tony Cohen Runners Up)
  • 2013-14 Maccabi Mcr 2nd (Shonn Trophy Winners)
  • 2013-14 Heaton Park Rovers (Feldman Runners-Up)
  • 2013-14 MJSL Player of the Year - Nick Yardley (Maccabi Mcr 2nd)
  • 2013-14 MJSL Top Scorer - Jonathan Franks (Heaton Park Rovers)
  • 2013-14 MJSL 7-a-side Winners - Haroldeans
  • 2013-14 MJSL Respect Manager & Team Award - Oakhill Lions

Our Sponsors and FA Links