Manchester Jewish Soccer League
Manchester Jewish Soccer League - Logo

Manchester Jewish Soccer League

Formed 1948 - Affiliated to Maccabi GB

News Report

South Manchester 2nd hit Leeds for 6 and Ben Gould rewrites MJSL history scoring every one of them


  • South Mcr 2nd - Tony Cup Winners 2018-19
  • Leeds Maccabi - Tony Cohen Cup Final 2018-19
  • Venue - Tony Cohen Cup Final 2018-19
  • Tunnelcam - Tony Cohen Cup Final 2018-19
  • Pre Kick Off - TC Cup Final 2018-19
  • TC medals table 2018-19
  • Men in Black - TC Cup Final 2018-19
  • MoM - Ben Gould (South Mcr 2nd) - TC Cup Final 2018-19
  • Olly Gordon receives TC Trophy 2018-19 for South Mcr 2nd
  • South Mcr 2nd - TC Trophy 2018-19 - Trophy Lift
  • Ben Gould - Man of Match - TC Cup Final 2018-19
  • Player of the Year 2018-19 - Tony Waltzer Trophy - Rafi Kay (Leeds Maccabi)

19/05/19 Tony Cohen Cup Final - South Mcr 2nd 6-1 Leeds Maccabi (HT 2-0)

This final Cup Final of the MJSL season provided a somewhat surprisingly one sided contest bearing in mind in the Shonn Trophy Final a matter of weeks ago, Leeds easily beat South 2nd 3-0. This time around in the Tony Cohen Trophy, it was South who dominated and finished chances with aplomb whilst Leeds were second best and lost their second final of the season.

It was just a matter of 2 minutes when a South corner was eventually headed home by Ben Gould to open the scoring. On 11 minutes, Gould curled a lofted free kick from a wide position into the top right hand corner with Reece Levy rooted in the Leeds goal. South tended to dominate possession whilst the attacks from Leeds were few and far between with minimal chances. The first period concluded 2-0 and the next goal would be critical clearly.

The second half started like the first, South created a chance for Ben Gould who duly obliged by chipping the goalkeeper and completing his hatrick. On 66 mins, Gould rifled in his fourth and 10 mins later slammed home number 5 in truly unstoppable form with the game looking like a straight 5-0 finish, but that was not the case as Rafi Kay came on for Leeds and bent in a free kick to make it 5-1 on 86 mins.

South bounced straight back and no surprises when Gould completed a memorable performance with a double hatrick making it 6-1. There was still time for Leeds to be awarded a penalty in added time but Reece Levy's spot kick hit the post and bounced to safety. Obviously Ben Gould was named man of the match, a performance which usurped the last such occurrence back in 1984 some 35 years ago when a certain Ray Nesbit slammed 5 in a 5-1 win by City Commercial Club over JLB Spartak.

Rafi Kay although on the losing side today was presented with the MJSL's Player of the Year award - the Tony Waltzer Trophy by Tony Sheldon. South Manchester's captain Olly Gordon lifted the Tony Cohen Trophy and meant that each of the MJSL's 3 cup finals had been won by 3 different teams.

Leeds will need to re-gather for their final league match against Maccabi Masters on May 29th where they need a point to take the title, anything less will mean Maccabi Yellow will win the league. For the Top Scorer award, Ben Gould is now on 27 goals with Rafi Kay on 20 so it would appear last year's winner will retain the trophy. The only other league match to be played is South Mcr 2nd against Reich which will also take place on 29th May.


Never miss an update

Follow the site to get the latest news and results straight to your email

Follow the website now

League Table link

Joan Collins Premier Division

2018-19 Season

  • 2018-19 Maccabi Yellow (League Champions)
  • 2018-19 Reich (Feldman Trophy Winners)
  • 2018-19 Leeds Maccabi (Shonn Trophy Winners)
  • 2018-19 South Manchester 2nd (Tony Cohen Cup Winners)
  • 2018-19 MJSL Player of the Year - Rafi Kay (Leeds Maccabi)
  • 2018-19 MJSL Top Scorer - Ben Gould (South Mcr 2nd)
  • 2018-19 MJSL Manager of the Year - Ian Selwyn (Leeds Maccabi)
  • 2018-19 MJSL Young Player of the Year - Matty Miller (Reich)
  • 2018-19 MJSL Referee of the Year - Behnam Sarani
  • 2018-19 MJSL Committee Member of the Year - Andrew Hatton

2017-18 Season

  • 2017-18 Haroldeans (League Champions)
  • 2017-18 South Mcr 2nd (Feldman Runners-Up)
  • 2017-18 Sedgley Park Celtic (Shonn Runners-Up)
  • 2017-18 Maccabi Yellow (Tony Cohen Cup Winners)
  • 2017-18 Reich (Tony Cohen Runners-Up)
  • 2017-18 MJSL Player of the Year - Adam Shiffman (Haroldeans)
  • 2017-18 MJSL Committee Member of the Year - Dan Feldman
  • 2017-18 Darren Rose Trophy
  • 2017-18 Reich 1st (6-a-side Winners)
  • 2017-18 Haroldeans management (Feldman Trophy)

2016-17 Season

  • 2016-17 Haroldeans - MJSL Premier Division Champions
  • 2016-17 Leeds Maccabi - Feldman Trophy Winners
  • 2016-17 Maccabi Blue - Tony Cohen Cup Winners
  • 2016-17 Prestfield - Tony Cohen Cup Runners-Up
  • 2016-17 MJSL Representative Team
  • 2016-17 MJSL Player of the Year - Adam Shiffman (Haroldeans)
  • 2016-17 MJSL Young Player of Year - Max Barnett (Haroldeans)
  • 2016-17 MJSL Sporting Manager of Year - Anton Radiven (Maccabi Yellow)
  • 2016-17 MJSL Committee Member of the Year - Ian Selwyn
  • 2016-17 MJSL 7 a Side Winners - South Manchester

2015-16 Season

  • 2015-16 Oakhill - MJSL Champions
  • 2015-16 South Manchester 2nd - Feldman Trophy Winners
  • 2015-16 Maccabi Mcr Blue - Shonn Trophy Winners
  • 2015-16 Reich - Shonn Trophy Runners Up
  • 2015-16 MJSL Player of the Year - Moses Seitler (Oakhill)
  • 2015-16 MJSL Young Player of Year - Charlie Simpson (Maccabi Blue)
  • 2015-16 MJSL Respect Manager of Year - Johnny Rose (Maccabi Blue)
  • 2015-16 MJSL Referee of the Year - Behnam Sarani
  • 2015-16 MJSL Committee Member of Year - Brian Myer
  • 2015-16 MJSL 7 a side

2014-15 Season

  • 2014-15 Leeds Maccabi (Treble Winners)
  • 2014-15 Gidi Amar receives Premier Trophy from Neil Collins
  • 2014-15 South Mcr Sports 2nd (Tony Cohen Cup Winners)
  • 2014-15 MJSL Young Player of the Year - Harry Landey (Leeds Maccabi)
  • 2014-15 Maccabi Mcr Yellow (Feldman Runners Up)
  • 2014-15 Reich Insurance Rangers (MJSL 7-a-side winners)
  • 2014-15 MJSL Joels Respect/Sportsmanship Award - Oakhill LIons
  • 2014-15 Leeds Maccabi (Shonn Trophy Winners)
  • 2014-15 MJSL Secretary of the Year - Neil Collins (South Mcr)
  • MJSL Remembrance Sunday

2013-14 Season

  • 2013-14 Maccabi Mcr 2nd (MJSL Champions)
  • 2013-14 Maccabi Mcr 2nd (I.Modlin & S.Lee) - Joan Collins Trophy
  • 2013-14 Leeds Maccabi 2nd (Tony Cohen Winners)
  • 2013-14 South Mcr Sports 2nd (Tony Cohen Runners Up)
  • 2013-14 Maccabi Mcr 2nd (Shonn Trophy Winners)
  • 2013-14 Heaton Park Rovers (Feldman Runners-Up)
  • 2013-14 MJSL Player of the Year - Nick Yardley (Maccabi Mcr 2nd)
  • 2013-14 MJSL Top Scorer - Jonathan Franks (Heaton Park Rovers)
  • 2013-14 MJSL 7-a-side Winners - Haroldeans
  • 2013-14 MJSL Respect Manager & Team Award - Oakhill Lions

Our Sponsors and FA Links